City of Heroes 2012

The first annual City of Heroes Awards Night took place on Nov. 15th, 2012. Twenty individuals and 4 student groups were honoured. The individuals were nominated for demonstrating the 6 City of Character values in their everyday lives (Respect, Responsibility, Integrity, Courage, Empathy, Service). Nominations were sent in by family members, colleagues, employers, and neighbours. A judging committee then met to review and select the winners.

In addition, 4 student groups who attended the Abbotsford City of Character Youth Forum were selected to receive $200 seed money (each) for their action plans intended to promote the City of Character values in their school communities.

For the 200 invited guests, the most powerful part of the evening was to hear the stories of how these individual, un-sung 'heroes' are living lives of character in our community. Also, to see our young people working together to promote character in their schools was inspiring!

Many thanks to our major partner, The Abbotsford News, and the many sponsors including WJ Mouat Secondary School, Thrifty Foods, MSA Ford, Trustee Preet Rai and Abbotsford Community Services. Special thanks to Mayor Banman for leading in O Canada and speaking, Trustee Shirley Wilson and Councillor Les Barkman for presenting the various awards, and Andrew Franklin and Vijay Manuel for MC'ing the event. Thanks also to the City of Character sub-committee for the work they did to develop and stage the event: Jenn Schotts, Fran Vanderpol, Christina Janzen, and Mark Duyns.

Watch for nomination information next year in The Abbotsford News and allow the un-sung character hero in your life to be considered for this honour!